Our Programs

PARENTING WORKSHOPS            

Early Childhood Education: These are multiple programs aimed at building a lifelong learning foundation for our young children:      

  • Happy 5 (Nuoi Day Tre Vui Manh): to ensure that our young children are healthy and kindergarten ready. 
  • Triple P, SEEDS, Arts Enrichment: to provide parents with knowledge and skills to ensure healthy development of our young children.
  • Healthy Youth (Giup Con Vao Doi):  to help pre-teens and teens become healthy, caring, responsible and successful young adults. 

OUTREACH & EDUCATION            

  • Covered California:  to provide access to free or affordable health insurance to all eligible families and individuals.

  • ICAN with Viet Families (ICAN voi Gia Dinh Viet):  semi-monthly TV talk show to promote community dialogue about parenting and healthy lifestyles.
  • Happy 5 (Nuoi Day Tre Vui Manh):  weekly radio talk shows to bring about health, peace and happiness in families.
  • Community forum (Gia Dinh Hom Nay & Ngay Mai):  to inform and educate the community on issues and services available to their families.

HUMANITARIAN

  • ICANDREAM: to provide scholarship to poor orphans and students in Vietnam to keep them in school.
  • 100 BIKES: to engage students in the US to give bikes to disadvantaged children in Vietnam so they can stay in school
  • BREATH OF LIFE: provide CPAP machines to hospitals in Vietnam to save lives of premature newborns and infants
  • ANH SANG TINH THUONG: to provide free cataract surgeries for poor elderly in Vietnam so they can enjoy life with their children and grandchildren
  • RELIEF EFFORTS: to help victims of natural disasters to get back on their feet

RADIO

Saturday, April 08, 2017: Baby teeth, Tuan H. Nguyen, DDS

Saturday, March 25, 2017:  Nutrition for children aged 6mos to 1year (vomitting + constipation), Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, March 11, 2017:  San Jose Flood, Quyen Mai (vivo) & Long Nguyen (uvan)

Saturday, March 04, 2017: Pregnancy part 2, Dr. The Anh Nguyen

Saturday, February 25, 2017: Mother's and baby's health during pregnancyDr. The Anh Nguyen

Saturday, February 18, 2017:  Building confidence in little children, Mong Hang Luu

Saturday, February 11, 2017: Valentine and Chocolate, Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, February 04, 2017: School Readiness, part 2, Mong Hang Luu

Saturday, January 21, 2017: School Readiness, part 1, Mong Hang Luu

Saturday, January 14, 2017: Tet Traditions, Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, December 31, 2016: Year end reflections on programs + announcements, Hope Nguyen & Tien Nguyen (ICAN's staff)

Saturday, December 24, 2016: Nutrition - How to stay healthy during the holidays, Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, December 9, 2016: live radio show on Covered CA

Saturday, December 2, 2016: live radio show on Covered CA

Saturday, November 26, 2016: Nutrition - Turkey (Thanksgiving), Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, October 29, 2016: Halloween, sugar and candies, Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, October 22, 2016: Measures on the ballot & the importance of casting votes, 

Thomas Nguyen (Viet voters)

Saturday, October 15, 2016: Measures on the ballot and how to make sure your vote gets counted,

Long Nguyen (PACT) and Quyen Mai (VIVO)

Saturday, October 08, 2016: Child development in the first 5 years, MongHang Luu

Saturday, October 01, 2016: what to eat during the flu season, Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, September 24, 2016: Eyecare and the importance of early and regular eye check upMinhTam Nguyen, OD

Saturday, September 17, 2016: Summer and Sunscreen, Chau Phan, PharmD

Saturday, September 10, 2016: Summer and Sunscreen, Chau Phan, PharmD

Saturday, September 03, 2016: Dental TraumaTrang Dao Filler, DDS

Saturday, August 27, 2016: How to have delicious and nutritious BBQ and grilled food - part 2Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, August 20, 2016: School meals + Story time, Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, August 13, 2016: Nail Salon Workers' Health, Betty Duong

Saturday, August 6, 2016:  ICAN's Happy 5 PWS helped me improve my parenting skills, Mr. Truc Tran (parent)

Saturday, July 30, 2016: Nutrition in BBQ & grilling, Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, July 23, 2016: Nutrition and exercise, Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, July 16, 2016: Sleep Hygiene, Dr. Le Phuong Thuy

Saturday, July 9, 2016: Sleep symptoms, Dr. Le Phuong Thuy

Saturday, July 2, 2016: Nutrition in beverages and sugary drinks

Saturday, June 25, 2016: Healthy eating habits, eats more veggies and fruits, (part 2)

Saturday, June 18, 2016: Father's Day

Saturday, June 11, 2016: Babyteeth and cavities, Tuan Hoang Nguyen, DDS.

Saturday, June 4, 2016: Workers' rights - Medical & family leave,  Betty Duong, Esq

Saturday, May 28, 2016: Nutrition, how to get children like to eat fruits and veggies, Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, May 21, 2016: Asthma, Dr. Quang Dao (Kaiser)

Saturday, May 14, 2016: Happy 5 Parenting Workshop, Phuong Nguyen ( a participant)

Saturday, April 30, 2016:  Nutrition for women in menopause, part 2, Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, April 16, 2016: School readiness - part 1,  Luu Mong Hang

Saturday, April 09, 2016: Folk songs & lullabies,  Bac Hanh

Saturday, April 02, 2016:  Contraception, Dr. TheAnh Nguyen, MD (Kaiser)

Saturday, Mar 26, 2016: Nutrition for women in menopause, part 1,  Ms. Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, March 12, 2016:   Bullying, Ms. Mai Doan, ESUHSD

Saturday, March 05, 2016:  Incontinence among grandparents, Dr. TheAnh Nguyen, Kaiser

Saturday, February 27, 2016:  Nutritional values of Ginger, Ms. Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, February 13, 2016:  Valentine Day – Strong relationship between parents ensures children's emotional health,  Mr. and Mrs. Kha & Phuong Nguyen

Saturday, February 06, 2016:  Building self-esteem in the first 5 years, Ms. MongHang Luu

Saturday, January 30, 2016:  Nutritional values of onion, Ms. Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, January 02, 2016:  Nutritional values of chili pepper, Ms. Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, December 26, 2015:  Spiritual health is important for children,  Mr Minh Ta and Mrs. Trinh Nguyen (parents)

Saturday, December 05, 20151):  Story time and Mini Forum on 12/13/15, Tien Nguyen (ICAN)

Saturday, November 28, 2015:  Nutrition and Forum, Ms. Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, November 21, 2015Menopause, Dr. TheAnh Nguyen (Kaiser)

Saturday, November 14, 2015Applying to college and financial aid, Ms. Hope Nguyen-Bradshear, Counselor @ Yerba Buena High school

Saturday, October 31, 2015:  Nutritional value of Garlic, Ms. Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, October 24, 2015Workers' Rights:  Salary and work hours,  Mr. Huy Tran, Esq.  (408) 317-1100

Saturday, October 17, 2015: Teaching Vietnamese to children - part 2,  Ms Luu Mong Hang (workshop facilitator) and Mr. Nghiep (parent)

Saturday, October 03, 2015Teaching children Vietnamese part 1, Ms Luu Mong Hang (workshop facilitator) and Mr. Nghiep (parent)

Saturday, September 26, 2015Nutrition:  Toddler Snacks, Ms. Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, September 19, 2015 Pregnancy - part 2, Dr. TheAnh Nguyen, MD (Kaiser)

Saturday, September 12, 2015:  Pregnancy - part 1, Dr. TheAnh Nguyen, MD (Kaiser)

Saturday, September 05, 2015:   Nutrition:  Sports Drinks, Ms. Nhu Nguyen

Saturday, August 29, 2015Nail salon workers' rights – Ms. Betty Duong, Esq

Saturday, August 22, 2015Supportive parent-child communication (how to talk to children without putting pressure on them), Ms Mai Doan, ESUHSD

Saturday, August 15, 2015: Breast cancer & infertility, Dr. TheAnh Nguyen (kaiser)

Saturday, August 08, 2015Parenting in the first 5 years, Ms. Dieu My (parent)

Saturday, August 01, 2015The formative years, Ms. Luu Mong Hang (workshop facilitator) & Mr. KienAnh (parent)

Saturday, July 18, 2015 story time (rabbit + tiger); STDs, Dr. TheAnh Nguyen, MD (Kaiser)

Saturday, July 11, 2015 Parent reunion, Ms Hoang Kim Hong

Saturday, July 04, 2015: Preparing for college, Ms Hope Bradshear, Counselor @ Yerba Buena high school